Grant Morrison is awesome.

I met Grant Morrison this weekend at New York Comic Con, which I decided I was just nerdy enough to attend (though I perhaps lack the, shall we say, gravitational pull of what is apparently a majority of planets that read comic books), and as is probably not altogether unexpected of a rendezvous with a writer that worships chaos magic and routinely references his psychedelic, drug-influenced, Earth-shattering experiences in Kathmandu, it was quite something.

Grant Morrison is one of my idols, the acclaimed writer of We3, The Invisibles, The Filth, Seaguy, Kill Your Boyfriend, Arkham Asylum: A Serious House on Serious Earth, All-Star Superman, and hallmark runs on Animal Man, New X-Men, Doom Patrol, JLA, Seven Soldiers, and Batman, to name a few. In no small way has he contributed to the legitimization of the super hero comic as an art form, and is, in my eyes, equaled only by Alan Moore in terms of literary prowess in the medium of “sequential art” (an oft-flaunted and pretentious phrase that means “comic book”). Anyone dumb enough to laugh off comics as a somehow inferior, unintellectual form is free to read The Filth and From Hell and then get back to me, tail rooted firmly between their legs, anuses puckered from the shocked dumping that followed their paradigm shifts.

I was surprised to find that, for someone with such an array of significant works under his belt, Morrison was down to Earth, funny, appreciative of his fans and ready to talk about anything, including an extensive rundown of his former drug habits at the Spotlight on Grant Morrison panel. Similarly, for someone whose work hints so vividly at insanity and malcontent, he appeared to be a very friendly, happy fellow that joked around and laughed a lot. Put simply, he is everything a celebrity comics writer (are there such things?) should be. (Sean McKeever, on the other hand, who is currently shitting all over Teen Titans and recently wrapped up the abomination known as Countdown to Final Crisis, was closed off and didn’t seem particularly interested in interacting with his readers.)

With all this in mind, it was with a mix of nervous excitement and intimidation that I waited in line for the Morrison signing. Here is a creator that I fervently admire, but as a writer myself, and a young one at that, I couldn’t help but feel the pangs of jealousy set in. Grant Morrison is an author at the top of his game, the absolute center of attention with his upcoming Final Crisis and conclusion to the beloved All-Star Superman; put simply, he is what (though not who, necessarily) I want to become. As if that wasn’t all enough, Morrison is penning the upcoming Batman R.I.P., which is slated to shatter Dark Knight’s world as we know it, and, well, I wrote my NYU admissions essay about Batman. You do the math. My pants were wet.

After waiting in line for almost two hours for Morrison to sign my “Club of Heroes” issues, I wanted to think of something, anything I could say to him that would communicate the fact that he is my hero without necessarily sounding like a gushing geek that could barely contain the buttered cobs of corn hidden beneath my floppy man breasts (that is, the floppy man breasts I would ostensibly have as such a person). When I got up there, in true nervous loser fashion, I could barely look him in the eye and handed him my comic books, upset with myself at my inability to make a first impression that would convince this comics god to take me on as his protege. I took an awkward picture with him in which I look absolutely terrible, and was about to shuffle off when he said to me in his thick-as-molasses Scottish accent, “J.H. Williams did a great job on this, didn’t he?” I looked at the books in my hand, realized Williams was the artist, and responded with “Oh yeah, absolutely fantastic.”

Then, nothing else coming to mind, I added, “It would make me very sad if you made Jason Todd Batman.”

He leaned in, smiled, and responded. “Don’t worry about it.”

Grant Morrison is awesome, and I am a nerd.

2 Responses to “Grant Morrison is awesome.”

  1. […] Wednesday, the 678th issue of Batman comes out, forming the third part of Grant Morrison’s monumental Batman R.I.P. storyline. Since a decent chunk of my readership comes from a […]

  2. […] Final Crisis issue 3 came out, penned by Grant Morrison, one of my favorite writers, with art by J.G. Jones (who is perhaps best known for his work on Wanted and 52). Unsurprisingly, […]

Leave a Reply

